Wednesday, 16 May 2012 04:10

How to Deauthorize Computers in iTunes and Avoid the Annoying Prompt: "You cannot authorize more than 5 computers"

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Some of you may have come across this annoying prompt, "You cannot authorize more than 5 computers", when you try to sync your iPhone or iPap or other iOS devices with iTunes. I cannot even remember when I authorized 5 computers in the first place, but it may have happened because I have formatted my computer which I use to syns my iPhone few times in the past. This article will tell you how we can deauthorize all the computers and authorize the one you are trying right now and get going with syncing your device.

you cannot authorize more than 5 computers  You cannot authorize more than 5 computers

About Authorizing and Deauthorizing in iTunes Store

Authorizing and deauthorizing a computer to use with your iPhone or iPad or other iDevices allows you to manage the computers that can sync apps, books, music, movies, audiobooks, podcasts, etc. that you have purchased from iTunes Store. As of now, Apple allows you to sync your device with 5 different computers. By authorizing a computer, you are giving the computer permission to automatically download updates, podcasts, audiobooks and other purchases using your Apple ID.

How to Deauthorize a Computer

If you already know which are the computers you have authorized, then deauthorizing one of those computers is pretty easy. But if you do not know, like in my case, then it can be a bit tricky. Let's first look at how to deauthorize a computer, for e.g. the one you have your iPhone or other iDevices connected right now.

Step 1: Open iTunes, ensure your iPhone or iDevices are connected to the computer.

Step 2: Click on Store menu >> Deauthorize this computer (if you are using iTunes 10. In older versions of iTunes, this can be accessed from Advanced menu)

Step 3: Enter your Apple ID and Password when asked.

You cannot authorize more than 5 computers

How to Deauthorize all 5 Computers You Have Previously Authorized

This option is very useful if you have no idea which are the 5 computers you have authorized or never authorized 5 computers at all, like in my case. To deauthorize computers in such cases, follow the steps below;

Step 1: Open iTunes >> Click on iTunes Store appearing at the left side of the window.

Step 2: Log in to your iTunes Store by clicking on to Store >> Sign in...Enter your Apple ID and Password

Step 3: Click on your account name appearing at the top right corner >> It will prompt you to enter the password again >> Click on View Account

Step 4: You will now be able to see your iTunes Store account details now. Scroll down to "Computer Authorization" under Apple ID Summary. Click on "Deauthorise All" >> Click "Deauthorise all computers" when prompted. You will see a message saying "Deauthorisation completed".

deauthorizing all computers in itunes store

deauthorizing all computers in itunes store

deauthorizing all computers in itunes store

Do you find this information useful? Why don't you tell your friends by sharing it on Facebook, Google+ or Twitter. You can also follow me on Twitter @sarayoo.info or Google+ or Like me on my Facebook for  more updates, technology tips and tricks, iPhone, iPad, other iOS devices tips, etc. Please leave your comments in the comment section or contact me if you have any other questions.

ask-the-geek-sarayoo

Read 6041 times Last modified on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 20:35
Saturday the 24th. ©Sarayoo.info 2012. Reproduction without permission is not permitted. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2012

©

Joomla template poker